Reason #48 Why Having a Preschooler Rocks

Katie has been wanting so badly to do a cartwheel.  Her gymnastics instructor has been trying every week to show her how.  So, I thought, I’ll just teach her.  I mean, I must have done 5,329 of them when I was a child. 

So, we did them the other morning until we were laughing so hard we were falling over.  (I may or may not have pulled a muscle in my hip when I was doing them, however!)

She didn’t perfect her cartwheels, but she showered me with smiles, hugs, and kisses because I did them with her.  Those minutes spent giggling and falling over made her happier than I could have ever anticipated. 

Moments like that are the ones that I hope she always remembers.  When she’s a grown woman, with children of her own, I hope she flashes back to doing cartwheels with me.  I hope she remembers just how joyous she has made me.

When was the last time you did a cartwheel?  Should you be inspired to do one, I have a word of advice.  Stretch!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to Technorati

12 Comments

Filed under Having a Preschooler Rocks

12 responses to “Reason #48 Why Having a Preschooler Rocks

  1. We’ve been having some cartwheel practices here too. Though you are braver than I, I did not attempt one. But I am thinking I’ll talk my sister into it.

  2. I wanna see a video of the cartwheeling!

  3. Lyndsey Bustos

    Ok so we haven’t done the cartwheel thing yet but Max was learning how to do forward rolls and I thought I was going to kill myself the first time! I moved muscles that haven’t gone in that direction for years! Kinda scared to do a cartwheel!

    • We did forward rolls when she first started taking gymnastics and I was sure I was going to injure my spine. I also couldn’t complete the roll without going willy-nilly sideways.

  4. I was just talking about this the other day. I never *could* do a cartwheel. I think it’s because my mom couldn’t do them and never taught me. I had to learn when I was a cheerleader (gasp) in high school. it was required. but I never could do it.

  5. For sure! Those are the simple, fabulous moments. I do cartwheels for my students every year, I don’t know how it started but it’s tradition now. I always see spots when I become upright again. That can’t be a good sign. 🙂

  6. That’s so funny because just a couple of weeks back I was doing cartwheels with my nieces…they’re a lot harder to do than I remember!! What a wonderful memory for both of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

