Imperfections

The super sweet and always thoughtful Niki, from Twenty something and blogging, has honored me with the Versatile Blogger Award.  Thank you so much, Niki! (Since Genina honored me with this award last week, I’m feeling all Meryl Streep now.  Thanks, girls!).

To accept this award, I must do the following:

1.  Thank the person who honored me with this award.

2.  Share seven things about myself.

3. Pass the award on to fifteen bloggers who I’ve recently discovered who I think are fantastic.

I’ve chosen to share with you a list of seven of my imperfections.

We’re often told that we’re too hard on ourselves, that we need to sing our own praises and use positive self talk.  While there’s merit to that, there is also beauty and value in humility, in being able to recognize things about ourselves that need work.  Once we’ve identified those things, we can either work on them or laugh and recognize that perhaps these are the things make us human and unique.

Things that I’ll probably just accept:

1.  I interrupt.  Constantly.  I even interrupt myself.  I have honestly worked on this one, but made zero progress.  It isn’t that I think that what I have to say is more important than what you’re saying; I just know that if I don’t speak RIGHT NOW, I will completely forget what I was going to say when it is my turn to speak.

2.  There are chores that I truly hate to do and I will often pretend that I don’t see them so that Craig will do them.  (Sorry, Babe!)

Example?  The lint trap in my dryer is so full that it is undoubtedly a fire hazard.  Every time I pull it out, it sends me sneezing hell for at least one full day. So I typically leave it for Craig.

Another example?  When the toilet paper is running low, I will be sure that I leave two squares on it so I don’t have to change it.

One more?  When the trash is getting full, I cram it down so that I don’t have to take it out.  Yeah, I’m sweet like that.

(I bet you wish you lived with me now!)

3.  I can be inconsiderate. When my feet are cold, I will unapologetically put them on Craig when we get into bed.  (I know!)  But he’s a furnace!  (This foot thing?  It won’t change. Ever.)

Things that I need to work on:

4.  I smother my kids.  I know that I do this and I know that it is unhealthy, but I don’t know how to stop.  I hover, I control, and I obsess.

5.  I often make plans that sound great in the moment, but when that moment arrives, I bail.  This ties in closely to my difficulty in saying no. (I have made a bit of progress here, however.)

6.  I do not take criticism well.  I get sulky, insecure, and unattractive.  (If anyone knows how I can learn to be better about this, I welcome your suggestions…or do I?)

7.  Sometimes I only partially listen when people are talking to me.  This happens when I have a million things on my mind or a long list of things that I have to do.  I can almost always repeat back the gist of the story, but not always all of the details. (Again, I’m truly working on it!)

So, there you have it.

That was liberating.

And finally, here is the list of new-to-me blogs that I’ve been enjoying:

Best of Fates

From Here to Four

baby bumble b

Listography

Anybody Want a Peanut?

Mommy of a Monster

I’m only doing six, because I’m a rebel.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Imperfections

  1. Oye, the interrupting? Yeah, me, too! I even interrupt myself when I’m writing. I keep a stack of index cards next to the computer so I can jot down all those mental interruptions; otherwise I start a new essay every 5 minutes and never, ever finish one.

    Mah brain is all crowded, I think.

  2. The sort-of listening thing? That is me.

    Last night, Kallan is drinking hot chocolate in the kitchen with me as I flip through the paper. She’s talking and I am making assent noises. I am not listening.

    And then I focus, because she has apparently asked me for a pony. A pony I have agreed to buy. And now she is just following up with a few questions about whether it can sleep in her room. And she laughing so hard she is spitting hot chocolate into her hands.

    Partially listening can be dangerous!

    And we’re not getting a pony.

    Congratulations on your award!!!

    • I seriously had better get my crap together before it occurs to Katie to ask for a random animal. Else, I’ll have a monkey, a walrus, and a kitten sitting around staring at me for food (yeah, she’s an odd kid). Yikes.

  3. I’m the worst interrupter EVER! I could only imagine how bad a conversation would go if it was between the two of us!! 😉

    I only half listen, too. And hubby always thinks I’m listening when I’m not. Drives him crazy, according to him…keeps him on his toes, according to me!!

    Thanks for the award!! I’ll let you know when I pass it along to someone else so you can see my 7 things (and your shout out!)…I might have to steal the interrupter thing, though. Cuz it’s that good!

  4. Lyndsey

    Nice to know that you are not perfect!!!!! Congrats on the award! Your writing transports me into your thoughts and it is truly enjoyable! PS I never feel like you interrupt!

Leave a Reply

